freeafro.blogg.se

Set chrome to use ramdisk for cache on mac
Set chrome to use ramdisk for cache on mac











set chrome to use ramdisk for cache on mac
  1. #SET CHROME TO USE RAMDISK FOR CACHE ON MAC HOW TO#
  2. #SET CHROME TO USE RAMDISK FOR CACHE ON MAC FULL#
  3. #SET CHROME TO USE RAMDISK FOR CACHE ON MAC PLUS#

Add the following parameters at the end of the target option. In my case, I want to move the cache file to SSD.

#SET CHROME TO USE RAMDISK FOR CACHE ON MAC HOW TO#

Here is How to Move or Allocate Google Chrome Cache and/or User Data to a Different Location Then you are not fully maximize the speed that you gained by running programs off SSD, because when Chrome try to read/write cache files, the OS still interacts with the slow hard drive. an other hard drive) and have the main program is running on a SSD. But if you are like me, having your user data moved to a different location (ex. Chrome is arguably the fastest in terms of launching and page loading and tab opening. One of the many reason why modern browser are so speedy is because they use a large number of cache file to stored on your local hard drive to make access to the most frequent website even faster. Please some help.If you are one of those that like to move your User Profile to a different partition or hard drive then this tip is best suitable for you, especially if you have a SSD as your primary boot disk. I am a regular Linux user, but not a systems wizard. Would that be correct? If not, how I could do that? I guess it will not be as easy as doing something like this, -disk-cache-dir=/tmpfs/cache/GoogleUserProfileXSubjectY right? Please note the fs on tmp

#SET CHROME TO USE RAMDISK FOR CACHE ON MAC PLUS#

chromium-browser -user-data-dir=/home/ThisComputerUsername/.config/chromium/GoogleUserProfileXSubjectY -disk-cache-size=50000000 -disk-cache-dir=/tmp/cache/GoogleUserProfileXSubjectYģ) And the final option, as I always move from place to place where I have very good internet connection, would be to place the cache in a /tmpfs, that as I understand, (just from today) is something like /tmp on ram, that also would be deleted when I restart the computer but with the plus of avoiding SSD wear as the cache is never stored (I don't mind having to load all the content of every web page I visit, I prefer to save SSD life) The total command would look like this, also reducing the cache to 50MB as in option 1. I am ok with that, more internet usage but less SSD wear.Īppending something like -disk-cache-dir=/tmp/cache to the launch command I would (I think) achieve that. Adding that to my launch command would result in a cache size of only 50MB, and the total command would look like : chromium-browser -user-data-dir=/home/ThisComputerUsername/.config/chromium/GoogleUserProfileXSubjectY -disk-cache-size=50000000Ģ) Another option would be to send the cache to /tmp to have it deleted each time the computer is restarted. So I would append -disk-cache-size=50000000 to my chromium launch command from before. I currently launch my Chromium profiles like this: chromium-browser -user-data-dir=/home/ThisComputerUsername/.config/chromium/GoogleUserProfileXSubjectYġ) One option I would have is to limit the amount of cache for each profile.

set chrome to use ramdisk for cache on mac

The most valuable site regarding Chromium options has been this Arch Linux site for Chromium I have been searching the web for solutions. I am a Xubuntu user, and this question is related to Ubuntu / Xubuntu. I manage 16 google accounts and have created several profiles for some of the accounts as sub-departments (yes, I need the 77 chrome profiles, I want them, please do not tell to delete some, as I know that) I have realized that the main culprit is (are) the 77 chromium profiles that I use on my computer.

#SET CHROME TO USE RAMDISK FOR CACHE ON MAC FULL#

Today I have realized that my system SSD is almost full (90% full) for the /home dir.













Set chrome to use ramdisk for cache on mac